Occasional Quiz – November

In stroke play, a player obtained a ruling from a member of the Committee and

proceeded to play on the basis of that ruling, which involved dropping the ball at

and playing from a wrong place, albeit only one foot away from where the player

should have played from. The Committee member then learns that he made an

incorrect ruling. What is the ruling?

A- The player should play a second ball under Rule 3-3.

B – The player must disregard the stroke or strokes played subsequent to the

incorrect ruling and proceed correctly.

C – The strokes played subsequent to the incorrect ruling must stand. The player

incurs no penalty for having played from a wrong place.

Correct answer: C

Explanation: As there is no serious breach involved and the player has not been

seriously disadvantaged due to playing from a wrong place, the strokes made

after the incorrect ruling must stand with no penalty. See Decision 34-3/3.3.